33 C
New Delhi
September 19, 2020

Jharkhand polls: Who’s leading, who’s trailing

Reading Time: 2 minutes

As the votes are being counted in Jharkhand, here’s a look at how the heavyweights of the state are faring.

— Jharkhand polls: Full coverage


>> Hemant Soren

The election gods seem to be favouring the former chief minister of Jharkhand. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha leader is leading from both his constituencies – Barhait and Dumka.  

>> Raghubar Das

The current CM of the state is leading from Jamshedpur East constituency.

>> Rameshwar Oraon

Jharkhand Congress president Rameshwar Oraon is leading from Lohardaga.

>> Sudesh Mahto

Mahto, who leads the All Jharkhand Students Union, is leading from the Silli assembly seat which he had held since the 2000s, but faced defeats in the 2014 assembly polls and 2017 by elections.

>> Babulal Marandi

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi is trailing from the Dhanwar assembly seat in Giridih district of Jharkhand. Marandi is up against sitting legislator and CPI leader Rajkumar Yadav and Lakshman Prasad Singh of the BJP. This is the second time the JVM-P chief is contesting from Dhanwar. In 2014, Marandi had lost this constituency to Rajkumar Yadav by over 10,000 votes. Before losing to Yadav, JVM-P had held this seat from 2009 to 2014.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related posts

When Trump’s poor geography left Modi stumped

Ritu Nandal

Why an American town honoured this desi COVID-19 warrior

Ritu Nandal

He defeated Shivaji’s descendant in Satara

Ritu Nandal
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x