31.3 C
New Delhi
September 23, 2020

Jharkhand last phase polling peaceful, 70.83% turnout

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The fifth and final phase of polling in 16 assembly constituencies of Jharkhand passed off peacefully in Jharkhand, Election Commission officials said.

IMAGE: Voters display their fingers marked with indelible ink after casting their votes during the fifth phase of the Jharkhand Assembly elections, in Godda district. Photograph: PTI Photo

An estimated 70.83 per cent of the total 40.05 lakh voters exercised their franchise till 5 pm when the polling ended, they said.

However, voting for five left wing extremists affected seats had ended at 3 pm, after the exercise to all the constituencies commenced at 7 am.


The polling percentage is likely to increase as information from all the booths is yet to reach the poll panel, the officials said.

Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and Jharkhand Agriculture Minister Randhir Singh is seeking re-election from Sarath constituency, while another saffron party nominee and Women and Child Development Minister Louis Marandi is pitted against Jharkhand Mukti Morcha working president Hemant Soren in Dumka.

Marandi had defeated Soren in 2014 assembly elections.

IMAGE: An elderly voter leaves after casting her vote during the fifth phase of Jharkhand assembly elections, in Dumka. Photograph: PTI Photo

The JMM leader is also contesting the polls from Barhait seat. His sister-in-law Sita Soren is seeking re-election from Jama seat.

Among others, former deputy chief minister and sitting JMM MLA Stephen Marandi is seeking re-election from Maheshpur and Janata Dal-United’s Jharkhand unit chief and ex-MP salkhan Murmu is contesting the polls from Sikaripara.

The seats that went to polls are Borio (ST), Barhait (ST), Litipara (ST), Maheshpur (ST), Sikaripara (ST), Rajmahal, Pakur, Nalla, Jamtara, Dumka (ST), Jama (ST), Jarmundi, Sarath, Poreyahat, Godda and Mahagama.

IMAGE: A security person stands guard as voters queue up to cast votes during the fifth phase of the Jharkhand assembly elections, in Godda district. Photograph: PTI Photo

Out of 81 assembly seats in the states, elections concluded in 65 constituencies in the previous four phases — between November 30 and December 16.

Counting has been scheduled on December 23.

Of the 5,389 polling stations in the state, 396 in Naxal-affected areas have been marked “critical” and 208 as “sensitive”.

The Election Commission has set up 8,987 ballot units, 6,738 control units and 7,006 VVPAT machines.

Via: PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related posts

Final list of Assam NRC to be published today

Ritu Nandal

Woman booked for holding ‘Kashmir Mukti, Dalit Mukti’ placard

Ritu Nandal

Khattar takes oath as Haryana CM, Dushyant Chautala as deputy CM

Ritu Nandal
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x