17.6 C
New Delhi
November 30, 2020

Sena MPs to sit in opposition benches in Rajya Sabha

Reading Time: 2 minutes

With the Shiv Sena pulling out of Bharatiya Janata Party-led government at the Centre over differences in government formation in Maharashtra, the seating arrangement of party MPs in Rajya Sabha has been changed.

Sources said that Shiv Sena MPs Sanjay Raut and Anil Desai will now sit in the opposition benches during the Winter Session of Parliament, beginning Monday.


Shiv Sena has three MPs in the Upper House of Parliament. Rajya Sabha sources said that the sitting arrangement of Shiv Sena MPs has been changed and Raut and Desai will sit in the opposition benches now.

Shiv Sena and BJP have parted ways following differences over power-sharing in Maharashtra. The two had fought the assembly polls together and won a majority in the results announced last month.

Shiv Sena insisted that there had been an understanding between the two parties on having the chief minister for two-and-a-half-years each. The BJP, however, has said there has been no understanding on the issue.

The Shiv Sena is now engaged in parleys with the Nationalist Congress Party and the Congress to form a non-BJP government in the state.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related posts

Former Congress mayor arrested in Bengaluru violence case

Ritu Nandal

India’s Covid tally crosses 41 lakh with over 90k cases

Ritu Nandal

BJP asks members to not use party’s name in US prez poll

Ritu Nandal
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x