21.1 C
New Delhi
November 27, 2020

Shiv Sena is not responsible for Maha stalemate: Raut

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Shiv Sena is not creating any hurdles in formation of a government in Maharashtra, senior party leader Sanjay Raut said on Monday after meeting the governor as the political stalemate saw no sign of resolution nearly two weeks after assembly election results.

IMAGE: Shiv Sena leaders Sanjay Raut, Ramdas Kadam meet Maharashtra governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari. Photograph: ANI

“Whoever enjoys majority should be allowed to form govt,” said Raut, who has been at the forefront of vociferously articulating the Sena’s demand for equal distribution of power and sharing the chief minister’s post.

The Rajya Sabha MP described his meeting with governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari as a “courtesy call”.

“We informed the governor that the Shiv Sena is not responsible for the current political situation in the state over formation of new government,” he said.

Raut, who is also executive editor of Sena mouthpiece ‘Saamana’, said his party is not creating any hurdles in formation of the new government in Maharashtra, where assembly election results were announced on October 24.

“The governor heard us patiently. We put forth our point of view,” Raut said.


“The governor informed us that there is some time for government formation in Maharashtra. The governor told that any political party (which commands majority) can come forward and stake claim (to form government),” Raut said.

“We agree that the governor is functioning within the framework of the Constitution,” said the Rajya Sabha member.

Raut was accompanied by party colleague and Maharashtra minister Ramdas Kadam, who met Koshyari at 5 pm, a Raj Bhavan official said.

The meeting came at a time when the BJP and the Shiv Sena are engaged in a bitter tug-of-war over the latter’s demand for equal distribution of portfolios and sharing the chief minister’s post.

The BJP has rejected the Sena’s demand for sharing the chief minister’s post for 2.5 years each.

In the October 21 polls to the 288-member assembly, the BJP won 105 seats followed by the Shiv Sena 56, the NCP 54 and the Congress 44.

Via: PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Related posts

UP is dragging India down with it

Ritu Nandal

Protests erupt across India over citizenship law

Ritu Nandal

Trade, defence, religious freedom to figure in Modi-Trump talks today

Ritu Nandal
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Translate »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x